Booksfact Youtube Channel

Jewish Star of David symbol is Vedic Anahata (Heart) Chakra

Among the seven chakras defined in human body which are invisible to naked eye, Anahata (अनाहत, Anāhata) is the fourth chakra.
In Sanskrit, anahata means “unhurt, unstruck and unbeaten“. Anahata Nad refers to the Vedic concept of unstruck sound (the sound of the celestial realm). Ananhata is associated with a calm, serene sound devoid of violence. It symbolises love, empathy, selflessness and devotion. The center of force inspires humans to love, be compassionate, altruistic and devoted and to accept divine actions.
anahata chakra symbol

This tradition of chakras and symbols have been used in ancient vedic yoga, Saakta and Buddhist tantric traditions.
This chakra is said to be placed in center of our chest (between breasts on spine).
Anahata is represented by a smoke-grey lotus flower with 12 petals. Inside is a smoke-coloured region made from the intersection of two triangles, creating a shatkona (hexagram having six angles; shat=six, kona=angle).
The shatkona is a symbol used in Hindu Yantra, representing the union of the masculine and feminine. Specifically, it is meant to represent Purusha (the Supreme Being) and Prakriti (Mother Nature) and is often represented by Shiva and Shakti. The deity of this area is Vayu, who is smoke-coloured and four-armed, holding a kusha and riding an antelope (the chakra’s animal).

Jewish Star of David symbol

star of david symbolhe Star of David, known in Hebrew as the Shield of David or Magen David is a generally recognized symbol of modern Jewish identity and Judaism, but it is not and was never a uniquely Jewish symbol.
It is similar to above Shatkona (hexagram) made by compound of two equilateral triangles.
Only from 19th century, it was used widely to imitate the influence of christian cross symbol.
Prior to that, it was used as an ornament or decorative motif.

There is a stone bearing a hexagram from the arch of a 3rd–4th century synagogue in the Galilee.
The name ‘Shield of David‘ was used by at least the 11th century as a title of the God of Israel, independent of the use of the symbol. The phrase occurs independently as a Divine title in the Siddur, the traditional Jewish prayer book, where it poetically refers to the Divine protection of ancient King David and the anticipated restoration of his dynastic house (no shape was mentioned)

Kabbalistic use of Hexagram

Hexagram symbol has been noted on a Jewish tombstone in Taranto, Apulia in Southern Italy, which dates back to as early as the third century CE.
In 1897, this shatkona symbol was chosen to represent the First Zionist Congress and now is a part of Israel flag.

Hexagram symbol in traditional Indian Rangoli

Indians have been practicing the art of Rangoli since vedic times and women decorate houses with colorful shapes and designs of powder during festivals.
Hexagram (Shatkona) has been part of Rangoli tradition and it is also seen in design of many vedic yantras.
The best example is Sri Yantra (Chakra), which has multiple layers of triangles.

Indian Hexagram Rangoli

Indian Hexagram Rangoli

sri yantra diagram (2D)

sri yantra diagram (2D)

Shatkona is as old as the vedic Swastik symbol and also represents the cosmic dance of Siva as Nataraja.
shatkona symbol vedic siva star of david

References :