Muhurtas described in Ramayana

Muhūrt (मुहूर्त) is a vedic unit of measurement for time. A 24 hour day+night consists of 30 muhurtas. Each Muhurta is about 48 minutes of duration.
Abhijit Muhurta by Rama

Each Muhurta is further divided into 30 Kalā ≈ 48 minutes.
Brahmanas and Rig Veda define Muhurta as “muhu” (moment/immediate) + “ṛta” (order).
So, it is the moment which occurs in an order every day.
In Ramayana, few muhurtas and their importance are described.
Yuddha Kanda, 4th Sarga describes a scene where Rama picks auspicious Muhurta to start towards Lanka with Vanara army.
After Hanuman burns Lanka and returns, he describes Ravana’s palace in detail along with his army.
He confirms that Seetha is alive and is in Lanka.
Rama decides to leave for Lanka and destroy it as soon as possible.
“अस्मिन् मुहूर्ते सुग्रीव प्रयाणम् अभिरोचये |
युक्तो मुहूर्तो विजयः प्राप्तो मध्यम् दिवा करः || ६-४-३”

Translation : Be pleased to approve our march at this moment, a suitable moment for success. The sun reached the mid-day.
Abhijit Muhurta occurs at mid-day, when Sun is exactly on our heads and shadows are minimal or invisible.
This muhurta is also called as Vidhi (विधि), which spans around 12pm each day.
Rama also picks a suitable nakshatra for his travel.

“उत्तरा फल्गुनी हि अद्य श्वस् तु हस्तेन योक्ष्यते || ६-४-५
अभिप्रयाम सुग्रीव सर्व अनीक समावृताः |”
Translation : This northern planet of Phalguni will be in conjunction with the Hasta star tomorrow. Hence, let us depart today itself with all the troops accompanying us, Oh, Sugreeva!
He picks initial part of Uttara-Phalguni nakshatra, which is 6th nakshatra when counted from his Punarvasu (his birth nakshatra).
6th nakshatra is regarded as Sadhana-Taara, where a person will achieve great success with some effort.
As next day, Hasta nakshatra will start at mid-day, and hasta becomes his Naidhana-Taara (7th) and inauspicious day, he wanted to start same day.
Abhijit Muhurta in Ramayana

Śatapatha Brāhmaṇa describes a muhūrta as 1/15th portion of a day ( here day means the time from sunrise to sunset).
Assuming Sunrise at 6AM :


Daily Period

Name (मुहूर्त)


Quality, or Guṇa (गुण)

106:00 – 06:48 (sunrise)Rudra (रुद्र)“Cryer”, “Howler”Inauspicious
206:48 – 07:36Āhi (आहि)“Serpent”Inauspicious
307:36 – 08:24Mitra (मित्र)“Friend”Auspicious
408:24 – 09:12Pitṝ (पितॄ)“Father”Inauspicious
509:12 – 10:00Vasu (वसु)“Bright”Auspicious
610:00 – 10:48Vārāha (वाराह)“Boar”Auspicious
710:48 – 11:36Viśvedevā (विश्वेदेवा)“Heavenly Lights in the Universe”Auspicious
811:36 – 12:24Vidhi (विधि) or Abhijit“Insight”Auspicious – except Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays
912:24 – 13:12Sutamukhī (सतमुखी)“Goat/Charioteer-Face”Auspicious
1013:12 – 14:00Puruhūta (पुरुहूत)“Many Offerings”Inauspicious
1114:00 – 14:48Vāhinī (वाहिनी) / Vinda“Possessed of Chariot”Inauspicious
1214:48 – 15:36Naktanakarā (नक्तनकरा)“Night Maker”Inauspicious
1315:36 – 16:24Varuṇa (वरुण)“All-Envoloping Night Sky”Auspicious
1416:24 – 17:12Aryaman (अर्यमन्)“Possessed of Nobility”Auspicious – except Sundays
1517:12 – 18:00Bhaga (भग)“Share”/”Stake”Inauspicious
1618:00 – 18:48 (sunset)Girīśa (गिरीश)“Lord of the Mount”Inauspicious
1718:48 – 19:36Ajapāda (अजपाद)“Unborn Foot”/”Goat Foot”Inauspicious
1819:36 – 20:24Ahir-Budhnya (अहिर्बुध्न्य)“Serpent at the Bottom”Auspicious
1920:24 – 21:12Puṣya (पुष्य)“Nourishment”/”Blossom”Auspicious
2021:12 – 22:00Aśvinī (अश्विनी)“Horsemen”Auspicious
2122:00 – 22:48Yama (यम)“Restrainer” (Death)Inauspicious
2222:48 – 23:36Agni (अग्नि)“Fire”/”Ignition”Auspicious
2323:36 – 24:24Vidhātṛ (विधातृ)“Distributor”Auspicious
2424:24 – 01:12Kaṇḍa (क्ण्ड)“Ornament”Auspicious
2501:12 – 02:00Aditi (अदिति)“Destitute”/”Boundless”Auspicious
2602:00 – 02:48Jīva/Amṛta (जीव/अमृत)“Life”/”Immortal”Very Auspicious
2702:48 – 03:36Viṣṇu (विष्णु)“All Pervading”Auspicious
2803:36 – 04:24Dyumadgadyuti (द्युमद्गद्युति)“Resounding Light”Auspicious
2904:24 – 05:12Brahma (ब्रह्म)“Universe”Very Auspicious for Mantra Japa or Prayer
3005:12 – 06:00Samudram (समुद्रम)“Ocean”Auspicious

(1) Swati, (2) Visakha, (3) Anuradha, (4) Jyestha, (5) Magha, (6) Poorva Phalguni, (7) Uttara Phalguni are 7 muhurtas ruled by 7 Nakshatras before Abhijit and these are called first Prahara.
20 Nakshtras after Abhijit constitutes 20 muhurtas. This way 28 Nakshtras constitute 28 Muhurtas Rest 2 Muhurtas are devoted to creator itself and these two Muhurtas are called as Brahma Muhurtas.
Abhijit Muhurta Mid-day in Ramayana
Upon saying so, Rama along with Vanara army marched towards Lanka.

Earlier in Aranya Kanda, Rama and Lakshmana meet the big vulture, Jatayu, who described about Ravana kidnapping Seetha and also tells details about inauspicious time (bad muhurta) in which the incident happened.
Jatayu describes Vinda Muhurta to Rama

येन याति मुहूर्तेन सीताम् आदाय रावणः |
विप्रनष्टम् धनम् क्षिप्रम् तत् स्वामि प्रतिपद्यते || ३-६८-१२
विन्दो नाम मुहूर्तो असौ स च काकुत्स्थ न अबुधत् |

Translation : In which spell of time (Muhurta) named Vinda, Ravana has gone taking away Seetha. If any riches are lost during that spell, the original possessor of those riches will repossess them very quickly. Oh Kakutstha (Rama), Ravana is unmindful of that fact and stole Seetha only to loose her quickly.
Ravana kidnaps Seetha in Vinda Muhurta
The 11th Muhurta is the list above, is Vāhinī or Vinda, which is inauspicious.
Ravan, being an astrologer himself and despite writing books like Ravana Samhita, ignored the time (muhurta) and paid the price.

It should be noted that Abhijit Muhurta is not suitable on Wednesday as it forms a malefic Muhurta on this weekday. Abhijit Muhurta is also not suitable for Manglik activities like Marriage and Upanayana ceremonies.
But these days people are prefering Abhijit Lagna, especially on saturdays and sundays for marriage, as it is easy for guests to attend the event, followed by Lunch after 12:30pm.